Internet hoax: Friend Request From Tanner Dwyer and Christopher Butterfield

The “Friend Request From Tanner Dwyer and Christopher Butterfield” internet hoax has been circulating Facebook for various years, the hoax claims that various Facebook hackers will send u an Friend Request, and once you accept the Facebook friend request from the hackers, you will be hacked instantly.

Have no fear

The “Friend Request From Tanner Dwyer and Christopher Butterfield” or “Friend Request from Hacker” internet hoax is not dangerous, hackers are not able to obtain full control over your Facebook profile by simply adding you to their Facebook account.

Each member on Facebook has the same rights and permissions, so if a hacker would be able to hack your account by simply adding you as a friend, then you would be capable of performing the same action.

There is one big but

It is important to keep in mind that hackers are able to control Facebook users by infecting the Facebook users with malicious Facebook applications. The hoaxers and hackers will hide their malicious code in friendly looking applications. So make sure that once you are trying out a new Facebook application, to double check the permissions you are granting to the Facebook application.

Some permissions would allow the hacker or hoaxer to leave messages on your Facebook wall, and it is also possible for them to abuse your friends list. Do note, that this is only possible if you install a malicious Facebook application, and not when you accept a friend request via Facebook.

Another method for the hackers will be to use phishing attacks to obtain personal information from unaware users. The hackers often spread fake messages and emails to thousands of addresses in the hope that someone will download and execute the attachment or click on attached malicious links.

The hackers will create fake pages which will look exactly like genuine login pages, it only takes a hacker a couple of seconds to create a fake Facebook page and for unaware users it is very hard to spot the malicious site. The hackers will use official pictures from the Facebook website and it is possible that they will include warning messages to urge the user to respond to the malicious email.

Friend Request From Tanner Dwyer and Christopher Butterfield internet hoax

The internet hoax uses the text below to scare unaware users from accepting friend requests on Facebook. The hoaxers have published the Facebook hoax in capslock to make it look urgent.

DO NOT ACCEPT A FRIEND REQUEST FROM TANNER DWYER, CHRISTOPHER BUTTERFIELD, STEFANIA COLAC AND ALEJANDO SPILJNER. THESE ARE HACKERS SO PUT IT ON YOUR WALL. IF SOMEONE ADD’S THEM THEY TAKE YOUR CONTACTS, EMPTY YOUR COMPUTER AND ADDRESSES, SO COPY AND PASTE THIS ON YOUR WALL.

This “Facebook friends request” hoax uses the following names, but please be aware that the hoaxers can simply adjust these names within seconds:

  • TANNER DWYER
  • CHRISTOPHER BUTTERFIELD
  • STEFANIA COLAC
  • ALEJANDO SPILJNER

So if you see someone which is sharing a message with the names above, then simply inform them via a private message that they are sharing a old hoax on Facebook. In the same time you are able to inform them about the risk they are taking by sharing such hoaxes. It allows the cybercriminals and scammers to pick out the unaware users from Facebook by simply following these type of messages and hoaxes.

It is also wise to report the internet hoax to the Facebook social media network. The Facebook network allows the users to report weird and malicious messages and pictures to moderators. The Facebook moderators will take a look at the report and they will follow with an action towards the reported account. Please do note that the Facebook team does not always immediatly remove the Facebook hoaxes from their domain, so do inform the user and don’t simply watch the hoax go viral.

If you see a similar hoax being shared, then do not hesitate to take a screenshot of the hoax or scam. You can upload the screenshot in the comment section below, and other readers will be able to see the information you provided. Resulting in a more aware social media network.