Internet scammers are always on the look for new techniques which they can use to infect unaware people, in this case, the scammers have used the Facebook Notes function to spread malicious content to unaware people.
The Facebook Notes environment on Facebook allows you to share text and pictures in a “bloggish” style of way, the Facebook Notes is an default option which is enabled in Facebook.
In the picture below, you are able to see how a scammer has claimed to share a video which a lot of males and females would like to see, but when you take a closer look, you will see that the “Video” is actually a picture which is hyperlinked to an external phishing website.
In just a couple of hours, hundreds of people have liked the post, and dozens have tried to watch the video. Some of the people even ask the scammer to add them on Whatsapp, so the scammer can send the video in a Whatsapp message.
Once the users click on the picture to watch the video, they will be redirected to the still active and malicious hxxp://facebookappx.com/tokyohot22/ phishing page. The malicious phishing page claims to be an official Facebook login page, but once you take a closer look, you will see that it is an fake page.
All the buttons on the page are redirecting to the malicious website, the scammers really want to obtain personal information
Please stay vigilant and inform your environment about the Malicious videos and notes which are being shared on Facebook. The scammers will try each possible method to lure unaware people to their malicious environments.