[Cybersecurity] Malicious application on iTunes: Who Viewed My Profile?

We all know that it is impossible to track Facebook user views via applications. This would need a whole community to make use of a application before it would have the data to link Facebook profile views. Now let’s take a look at the Who Viewed My Profile application which has been shared on the apple application store “iTunes”.

Who Viewed My Profile

The Who Viewed My Profile iTunes application claims that it allows users to view their Facebook account viewers. The application can be downloaded for free via the iTunes application store.

The author claims that:

Any activity you do on Facebook like messaging someone, liking a post ,commenting on a status, Visiting a profile, viewing someone’s photos …. is triggering something in the code that changes the order of this list, noting that some of these factors have a higher priority than others.

While Facebook claims that:

no it is not possible

He continues to explain

If you are interested in knowing who’s viewing your profile you have to interpret this list and look for people who you haven’t interacted with recently, those will be the ones visiting your profile and viewing your photos, you do the math and find out who might have a crush you.

Also be reminded that the list reflects what’s going on, on your profile, i.e. if there are no new activities on your profile the list will stay the same until something new happens.

He also gives some hints:

Hint: For those of you doubting that the app works as described, look into the app when you change your profile photo or add a new album, and you can see for yourselves whose been checking your profile, also for those of you inquiring about the hidden names, you need to buy the full version to unlock the whole list, in some cases it might take up to two hours after purchase for the list to get unlocked.

And his post scriptum

The app has a free & paid versions, the free version shows you a part of the list & keeps the rest as hidden, where the paid version unlocks the whole list, please use the free version at first and try the app yourselves, if you are satisfied with the results, you have the option to switch to the paid version.

What to do

First delete the application from your iPhone or Apple product. Once you have deleted the malicious application, use the report function on the iTunes page. 

Inform your friends about this malicious iTunes application.