Revamped Schengen Information System Now Allows Preventive Person Registration in All Schengen States

Learn about the new features of the Schengen Information System (SIS), including preventive person registration and signalization. Read now to stay informed!

The Schengen Information System (SIS) has undergone a major upgrade, and now allows for preventive person registration and signalization in all Schengen states. This means that authorities can now share and access information about wanted or prohibited persons, as well as lost or stolen identity documents, in a single, centralized database. In this blog, we’ll explore the key features of the new SIS and their implications for security and border management in Europe.

In today’s world, the need for efficient security and border management systems has never been greater. The European Union (EU) has recognized this and has invested in the development and upgrade of the Schengen Information System (SIS), which is now the largest and most widely used information exchange system for security and border management in Europe.

You might also like:

The upgraded version of the SIS has several new features, including the ability to register persons preventively who are not allowed to leave a country, as well as to search for persons suspected of involvement in terrorist attacks or armed conflicts. The system also includes information on wanted and missing persons, as well as persons who are not allowed to enter or stay in the Schengen area.

The introduction of the new SIS means that authorities such as the police and the military can work together more effectively to prevent and combat crime and terrorism. It also means that travelers will be better protected, as lost or stolen identity documents can be easily tracked and identified.

In the Netherlands, the implementation of the new SIS has been carried out by the police, and the country is now fully integrated into the system. This has important implications for both Dutch citizens and visitors to the country, as it means that security measures have been significantly improved.

Schengen states

The Schengen States are a group of 26 European countries that have signed the Schengen Agreement. This agreement allows for free movement of people between these countries without the need for passport control at their mutual borders. The Schengen States include 22 of the 27 European Union (EU) member states, as well as four non-EU countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. The Schengen area covers a large part of the European continent and is home to over 400 million people. The Schengen Agreement is an important aspect of European integration and has facilitated cross-border travel and trade, as well as cooperation in the areas of security and law enforcement.

Schengen States Countries

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Malta
  18. Netherlands
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Spain
  25. Sweden
  26. Switzerland
Share This Message