Facebook is a social networking website Users can add friends and send them messages, and update their personal profiles to notify friends about themselves.
A few weeks ago Facebook had more visitors than Google! If you don’t have Facebook account you’re in the minority.
Facebook is about sharing your information with firends,friends of friends or everyone, you can customize your settings by going to Account menu on Facebook
Basic Directory Information:
Certain information is visible to everyone because it's essential to helping people find and connect with you on Facebook.
- Name and profile picture are visible to everyone so real-world friends can recognize you, and so we can display them when you write on someone's Wall.
- Gender is public so we can correctly display your gender (for example, "Add her as a friend.")
- Networks are visible to everyone so you can see who else is part of your network (and will have access to your information) before choosing "Friends and Networks" for any of your privacy settings.
Other information in this section, including hometown and interests, is visible by default to help friends and other people you have things in common with connect with you.
Sharing on Facebook:
This section controls who can see all the content you post on a day-to-day basis (such as status updates, photos and videos).
It also includes some things you share about yourself (birthday and contact information) and content others share about you (comments on your posts and photos and videos you've been tagged in).
Set these now with one click, and your settings will apply to all the day-to-day content you post in the future. "Customize settings" displays a full list so you can control the privacy level for each setting.
Applications and Websites
This section controls what information is shared with websites and applications, including search engines (applications and websites you
and your friends use already have access to your name, profile picture, gender, networks, friend list, user ID, and any other information you share with everyone).
You can view your applications, remove any you don't want to use, or turn off platform completely.
Turning off platform means you won't be able to use any platform applications or websites and we won't share your information with them
This section lets you block people from interacting with you or seeing your information on Facebook. You can also specify friends you want to ignore application invites from,
and see a list of the specific applications that you've blocked from accessing your information and contacting you.
Recommended settings; Facebook default setting, You can think of "Everyone," "Friends of Friends" and "Friends Only" as big buckets containing different groups of information.
With default recommended settings, your information is distributed across all three buckets.
"Everyone" contains status updates and information that people may want to share with a larger audience. "Friends of Friends" includes photos and videos of you,
which are often relevant to friends of your friends. "Friends Only" includes all of your contact information and things that are only relevant to people you interact with directly.
Control each time you post
You can control who sees each and every post. Before you post a status update, link or anything else, click the lock icon to choose who can see it.
What you select will override your "Posts by me" setting, which acts as the default.
Control with applications
Applications can only see information you've already made visible to everyone. To access more, applications have to ask for permission for each piece of information,and it can only be information that's needed for them to work.
Control for what you're tagged in
You control who can see the photos and videos you're tagged in that appear on your profile.
Keep in mind, the owner of a photo can still share that photo with people you're not friends with, so remove the tag from the photo or video if you don't want that to happen.